top of page

Deadline for Hall of Fame Nominations is March 31st

We will be hosting our Hall of Fame Luncheon on Thursday, October 26, 2023. The luncheon will be held in the legendary Rainbow Room at 30 Rockefeller Plaza in New York City. This gala luncheon recognizes the important contributions broadcast professionals have made to their communities and the broadcasting business. In 2022 we inducted:

  • Dana Tyler: Award-Winning News Anchor, WCBS-TV, New York City

  • Jim Kerr and Shelli Sonstein: Legendary Morning Hosts, WAXQ (Q-104) FM, New York City

  • Richard McCollough: Legendary Meteorologist, WDKX-FM 10-3.9, Rochester

  • Chuck Custer: Award-Winning News Director and Morning Host, WGY Radio, Albany

In addition, we honored Michael Strahan as our Broadcaster of the Year. Strahan currently co-anchors ABC’s “Good Morning America” and is an Emmy winner, Super Bowl Champion, member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, and a Peabody award-winning journalist.

Nominations for the NYSBA Hall of Fame are now open and must be made by a person associated with a member station of the New York Broadcasters Association.

The Hall of Fame is open to individuals in all aspects of the broadcasting industry including ownership, management, news, engineering, production, sales, promotion, on-air talent, programming, creative services, or associated professional fields. The committee also considers such factors as maintaining a geographical balance as well as service to the New York State Broadcasters Association. The Selection Committee will judge the nominations on the following criteria:

Candidates for the Hall of Fame Class for 2023, shall have worked in broadcasting in New York State or an associated professional field to the benefit of the broadcast industry. Broadcasting is defined as professional work on a local radio or television station as well as a broadcast network. While we will consider work on digital services, a nominee must have worked for a broadcast entity to be considered. Candidates are judged to have made a significant contribution to the broadcast industry in New York State. In doing so, they are judged to have distinguished themselves from their New York peers.

Decisions are made by the Hall of Fame Subcommittee of the New York Broadcasters Association Board of Directors. Decisions of the subcommittee are final.

Nominations will be accepted through March 31, 2023. To nominate a person, please submit the form below by the deadline. You may also provide additional materials with the submission.

Nomination forms and materials should be sent electronically to Sandy at

You can access the nomination form here.



bottom of page